How Should be a Gift Modelled in DV2.0

Hi,

I am new to both data vault modelling and this group. I work for a non profit organization which collects donations from patrons. To give a simple summarized version of it, we have a person/org table from source (which has all the donors), we have a pledge table with pledge number where each record is a pledge taken by the donors to donate certain amount and then we have a gift table where each record is a gift given by a donor. Not all pledges convert to gifts and sometimes one pledge can have multiple gift records (with same gift receipt number + sequence number) summing up to the total pledge amount. On the other hand there can also be gifts that do not belong to any pledge. The business people identify a gift by its gift receipt number even though its a system generated transaction id and obviously it has its own attributes.

Now I am trying to model this in DV2.0. Person/Org table looks like it should be modelled as a hub. I think pledge can also be a hub but coming to gift, how should I model it, since business identifies it with a number, shall I model it as a hub and a MASat (one gift receipt number with multiple sequence ids) with the details or since gift is a transaction model it as a link and MASat with the low grain details.

What it the best way to go? Please advise.

Thank you in advance.
LV

Hello,

hubs represent the business objects of the business, should persons and orgs be in the same hub?
is pledge a business object?

I only ask because a DV is meant to represent the business which is why it is advocated to be so flexible, in other words if the data source / business needs change you can easily add to the existing model and “turn off” the feed for historical loads, in that sense pledge hub might be extraneous no one cares about, is not a unique business key and/or can be modelled simply as a sat off the hub person/org hub

Hi Patrick,

Thank you for a quick response, I really appreciate it.