How to parallelize hubs and links loads and automatize them as much as possible ?

Hello everybody,

I am pretty new with the data vault modeling and i would like to know if what i am implementing is making sense or not.

In my company, we want to implement the data vault in our lakehouse to get better quality and scalabilty about business changes.

For the raw vault, we want to ingest data as fast as possible. Therefore, we want to parallelize hubs, satellites and links. However, for links, i don’t know how to feed them.

Let’s say we have a link to build for the relationship between a contract and a client.
We have hubs Client and Contract that are ok with hash keys, natural keys that are used for the hash key and some technical columns (ingested_date, and so on…).

We have 3 applications that contains the notion of client and contract : salesforce and 2 internal apps.

My idea is to union 3 queries for the 3 apps to modelize all possible relationships, and then, insert all distinct lines into the link. With this approach, i think i could parallelize all tables into the raw vault and make generic all ingestion for this layer with json file that includes all metadata description to generate queries automatically.

What do you think about that ? Do you have any suggestions for making this real ? I am not really sure how to handle links with multiple sources.

Thanks a lot for your help.

Have a nice day.

it’s the only way! Perhaps a book might have the answer…

Hi Patrick,

I know your book exists and i know how i could handle the parallelism between loads. However, i am not sure how to build queries for links when there are multiple sources : any suggestions ?

The same way you built the queries for your hubs. After all, they are pretty much the same right? A unique list of business keys versus a unique list of relationships between business keys.

1 Like

Hi Frenk,
Thanks for your response.