data vault modeling : staging layer

Hi everyone, I am fairly new to Data Vault, I’ve done some reading online and tried to learn as much as possible. I was asked by my company to review an existing data vault implementation an ex colleague has developed. Few things have be left in doubt, I would appreciate if you could answer me on the below questions:

1. Can we have views in the staging layer of the data vault model? I thought in this layer they should all be materialised tables?
  2. Can our data vault concepts (hub, link, satellite) be created out of tables that are NOT in the staging layer?
  3. Can our staging table be the result of join operations?

Hi there! Welcome to Data Vault!

Let’s run through your questions:

1. The staging layer in a Data Vault model typically uses materialised tables since it wants to capture the raw data as is, so it can be effectively queried later. Using a view isn’t completely out of the question though as simple transformations or derivations may need to happen in a virtual layer over the raw data. However, with performance and stability in mind, materialised tables are preferred.

2. Yes, your Data Vault concepts can be created from tables that aren’t in the staging layer. As said above, the staging layer is mainly for raw data ingestion. The data within that can be transformed in a “priming” layer to be loaded into the Data Vault structures that align with business concepts. These can be built from any source table assuming it follows the standards.

3. This is a more tentative yes. There are scenarios where joining data from multiple sources can be beneficial or needed, assuming it maintains the auditability of the original data. There is usually a business requirement behind this. I will say though that this solution works fine in smaller datasets but will not scale well. More details around the exact use case would be helpful here!

1 Like